Impressive uses of Aloe Vera

02/04/2014 17:33


I confess I’m typically sceptical about products that assert to be anti-ageing, much as I would love to come across something that would knock 20 years off me! It’s all too easy for manufacturers to prey on the insecurities of women – and men – who look in the mirror and concentrate on lines that are showing, chins that are doubling or wrinkling, and hair that is going grey. We gladly – or is it desperately? - are allured into the guarantees that accompany the newest ‘elixir of life’ to emerge on the market, but disappointment soon follows and we watch and wait in anxious anticipation for the next wonder product, drug or treatment to feed our craving for eternal youth.



For myself, I would not put myself under the knife, even despite the fact that there are parts of my face and body that could do with a bit of ironing out. Apart from anything else, I’d be too worried I might make things worse! I’ve witnessed the stretched and distended features of celebs who have taken anti-ageing sessions a step too far. In spite of this, that doesn’t mean I’m disinclined to trying non-invasive, natural products to help improve my overall wellbeing and to keep my body and hair in the best condition possible.



I’ve used numerous top-of-the-range skin care products, as well as low-priced high street brands, but hadn’t deliberately used anything containing aloe vera, apart from as an after-sun. Then I happened upon a booth selling nothing but aloe vera products and was encouraged to appraise them. The saleswoman waffled on to some extent about aloe being the same PH as our skin, with the ability to penetrate deep down to the dermis layer, but at the time I was only really interested in whether or not it would make my skin feel nice. It did. Not only that, but after several weeks of using the product I purchased, I observed my skin was a good deal clearer and healthier-looking.



I did a bit of investigation and was intrigued to discover that aloe vera has been well renowned by a lot of different cultures over thousands of years for its medicinal properties: from the ancient Egyptians, Greeks and Romans, to the Chinese and Indian peoples. Cleopatra apparently utilised it as part of her beauty regime, and Gandhi drank it during his fasts, claiming it was one of three reasons he remained so vigorous – the others being his belief and his frugal life.



Chances are you’ve slathered a cooling aloe vera gel over a sweltering suntan. Possibly you’ve even cracked open an aloe plant leaf and drizzled its cloudy juice directly onto reddened or dried out, itchy skin. Topically applied, aloe’s soothing advantages are generally known—and have been celebrated by nurturing grandmothers for decades. But the plant harnesses a multitude of other prospective applications for physical condition and wellness. Although individual studies on aloe’s effectiveness have yielded mixed and even conflicting results, naturopaths and herbalists have long espoused its facility to ease constipation, flush toxins from the body, sort out gastric problems and even help lessen blood sugar when taken orally as a supplement or a juice.



Going back to anti-ageing, I learned that aloe vera has been added to several cosmetic products over the years because of its celebrated rejuvenating action. The saleswoman who sold me my lotion had mentioned anti-ageing and I’d given her my ‘Oh yeah’ grin, but now I was reading how manufacturers would give their back teeth to come up with a synthetic substitute for aloe that would create the equivalent advantages - the reason being that they can’t source enough aloe itself.



The majority of the properties of Aloe examined by dermatologists have been before now employed in cosmetology. Aloe vera with healing properties works as a regenerator, and renews the skin: Aloe vera penetrates the epidermis four times faster than water – and bear in mind that human skin is protected against water by a “hydro-coat”. Organically active elements of Aloe pass through this layer quite liberally, so the next layers of skin retain certain substances, and some absorb even deeper. Aloe vera gel and the healthy human skin share the same pH (5.2-5.6). It has antibacterial, antiviral, and anti-fungal components – thanks to the appropriate pH of Aloe vera, no microbe or viruses can grow, and friendly to us saprophytes (natural bacterial flora) feel great in the pH that Aloe vera supplies. Healthy pH of Aloe will help treat wounds, and may well heal spots and other skin issues. Aloe helps the long-term treatment of fungal infections of the skin, including dandruff. Bacteriostatic effects of Aloe are not just to keep up the pH. The constitution of the pulp also contains antibacterial ingredients. Mucopolysaccharides also have antibacterial properties (sealing of cell walls).



Aloe gel heals and minimizes inflammation – Aloe vera has a promotional growth factor, which accelerates the remedial process and sustains the operations connected with immune response. Aloe inhibits the inhibitory effect of specific antiseptics (drugs), and will help to heal wounds much earlier. Aloe prevents the discharge of bradykinin and histamine – tissue hormones, released in response to the effects of tissue injury. These two hormones set off an acute redness in a short time after injuries or bites. And saponins contained in Aloe work as an astringent and lower swelling, redness, and bruising.



I’m still generally sceptical where anti-ageing products are concerned, but I’m a convert in the case of aloe vera. I’ve been using it now for seven years and my skin has without doubt improved in texture and depth. What’s more, I’m at that age when those dreaded liver spots threaten to come out, but I’ve noticed that they never really come to anything on my face. Dr Peter Atherton, a foremost world authority on aloe vera says in his commentary Aloe Vera – Myth or Medicine: ‘The best exhibition of this effect that I have ever seen, was shown by Dr. Ivan Danhof, an American physician who has worked with topical aloe applications in the makeup business for 30 years. When testing new creams and lotions, being right-handed, he always applied the material with the fingers of his right hand to the back of his left hand in order to assess its quality, scent and penetrability. He now declares that he has one older hand and one young hand and if truth be told the difference when he puts his palms together to show the backs, side by side, is quite amazing. One hand is the classic hand of a seventy-year- old with thinning, wrinkled skin covered in a mixture of spots, whilst the other, his left hand, is clear and smooth and looks 30 years younger.’



I’ve been much less attentive where my hands are concerned, but now I’m going to plaster them with aloe, day in, day out, so that they too look 30 years younger. Well, wouldn’t you?