Extraordinary uses of Aloe Vera

12/04/2014 17:53


I confess I’m habitually sceptical about products that profess to be anti-ageing, much as I would love to hit upon something that would knock 20 years off me! It’s all too easy for suppliers to prey on the insecurities of women – and men – who look in the mirror and concentrate on lines that are appearing, chins that are doubling or wrinkling, and hair that is greying. We gleefully – or is it desperately? - buy into the promises that accompany the most recent ‘elixir of life’ to emerge on the market, but disappointment before long follows and we watch and wait in anxious anticipation for the next wonder product, medication or remedy to feed our need for eternal youth.



For my part, I would not put myself under the knife, even although there are areas of my face and body that could do with a bit of ironing out. Apart from anything else, I’d be too troubled I might make things worse! I’ve observed the stretched and swollen features of stars who have taken anti-ageing remedies a step too far. In spite of this, that doesn’t mean I’m indisposed to trying non-invasive, natural products to help improve my overall wellbeing and to keep my complexion and hair in the best condition possible.



I’ve used scores of top-of-the-range skin care applications, as well as cheap high street brands, but hadn’t consciously used anything containing aloe vera, apart from as an after-sun. Then I happened upon a booth advertising nothing but aloe vera products and was encouraged to sample them. The saleswoman waffled on somewhat about aloe being the same PH as our skin, with the ability to seep in deep down to the dermis layer, but at the time I was only really interested in whether or not it would make my skin feel nice. It did. Not only that, but after numerous weeks of using the product I purchased, I observed my skin was a good deal clearer and healthier-looking.



I did a bit of investigation and was intrigued to discover that aloe vera has been well renowned by a lot of different cultures over thousands of years for its healing properties: from the ancient Egyptians, Greeks and Romans, to the Chinese and Indian peoples. Cleopatra evidently used it as part of her beauty regime, and Gandhi drank it during his fasts, claiming it was one of three reasons he remained so healthy – the others being his faith and his frugal life.



The components of aloe vera have led to its being labeled as the Burn Plant, Remedies Plant, Plant of Life and Wand of Heaven. Together with those properties are that it is anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial, anti-viral, anti-septic, anti-pyretic (burns) and anti-pruritic (itching). It also has some 75 significant nutrients, including nutritional vitamin supplements, minerals and amino acids.



Going back to anti-ageing, I learned that aloe vera has been added to many cosmetic products over the years because of its proven rejuvenating action. The saleswoman who sold me my cream had mentioned anti-ageing and I’d given her my ‘Oh yeah’ grin, but now I was reading how manufacturers would give their back teeth to come up with a synthetic substitute for aloe that would create the same pros - the reason being that they can’t supply enough aloe itself.



Aloe vera works in a number of various ways, and I might lose you at this point because it’s a bit complicated. Bear with me though, for the reason that this will help you appreciate how aloe vera is anti-ageing – and yes, I’m won over. To begin with, it contains polysaccharides (carbohydrate molecules), which act as moisturisers to hydrate the skin. Secondly, aloe vera is simply carried into the skin, right down to the dermis layer, where it activates fibroblasts (cells) to duplicate themselves more rapidly. It’s the fibroblasts that produce collagen and elastin (naturally occurring in younger skins), so older skin becomes significantly less wrinkled and regains some elasticity.



Aloe gel soothes and minimizes irritation – Aloe vera has a promotional growth dynamic, which speeds up the curative process and supports the operations connected with immune response. Aloe inhibits the inhibitory effect of specific antiseptics (drugs), and helps to heal wounds much faster. Aloe inhibits the release of bradykinin and histamine – tissue hormones, released in response to the effects of tissue damage. These two hormones activate an acute redness in a small time after injuries or bites. And saponins contained in Aloe work as an astringent and reduce swelling, redness, and bruising.



I’m still typically sceptical where anti-ageing products are concerned, but I’m a convert in the case of aloe vera. I’ve been using it now for seven years and my skin has unquestionably improved in touch and depth. What’s more, I’m at that age when those dreaded liver spots threaten to become visible, but I’ve observed that they never really come to anything on my face. Dr Peter Atherton, a foremost world authority on aloe vera says in his commentary Aloe Vera – Myth or Medicine: ‘The best demonstration of this effect that I have ever seen, was shown by Dr. Ivan Danhof, an United states physician who has worked with topical aloe products in the cosmetics business for 30 years. When testing new creams and lotions, being right-handed, he always applied the material with the fingers of his right hand to the back of his left hand in order to assess its texture, smell and penetrability. He now declares that he has one older hand and one young hand and indeed the comparison when he places his palms together to show the backs, side by side, is pretty amazing. One hand is the characteristic hand of a seventy-year- old with thinning, wrinkled skin covered in a mixture of spots, whilst the other, his left hand, is clear and smooth and looks 30 years younger.’



I’ve been much less thorough where my hands are concerned, but now I’m going to plaster them with aloe, day in, day out, so that they too look 30 years younger. Well, wouldn’t you?